travel notes

Stuck inside my head: purpose vs having it all figured out

In Uncategorized on December 17, 2010 at 5:16 pm

You know you’re in relationship trouble when you start looking to the universe for signs – when you listen to every love song and watch every love flick searching for clues (as if pre-adolescent Justin Bieber is an expert on love).

I have a tendency to see the world in symbolic ways, and not just in relation to relationships. I see weaving threads and connections throughout my life; I love it when the song that got me through 6th grade plays on the radio when I’m having a bad day, or when I stumble upon an old letter written on the same day from years ago. I loved LOST for this very reason; trying to “hack” the mystery and code, along with Jack and Hurley, through numbers and clues. Seeing the world in this way is a method of making sense of things.

There are various things people call this, the most common being:

“Having it all figured out.”

And while it sounds silly to say out loud that I’m trying to “have it all figured out” I still want to! That said, I know I never will.

The great theologians have said that the more they study God, the less they understand him. In the end, it all comes down to what you know –that God is love. The rest – the signs, the miracles – simply enhance the process. They let us know that God is with us. That God is leading. And ultimately, he is leading us to himself – not to having our life in this world all figured out.

So, here is my New Year’s Resolution (early, perhaps, but sincere):

I will…

STOP

Using signs to make sense of things.

I will

START

Seeing symbols as giving shape and meaning and rhythm to my life
A shape and rhythm that give me a unique lens from which to see the world,

rich, poetic and powerful.

To 2011 and drinking deeply of life!

  1. Oh, I love this. And you. And your writing. Can’t wait to catch up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

