travel notes

5th Ave and Lexington, New York, New York

In New York on November 8, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Is it possible to be satisfied in the city that offers everything? I discovered it is on an evening a few weeks ago in SoHo.

I treated myself to a delightful early dinner at Bread, indulging in decadent people watching for a few glorious hours along with a glass of wine – decent for the east coast. (Menu recommendation: the Special Salad with Sicilian Tuna and caper berries). I stumbled out onto the street for some after dinner shopping. My finds: a pair of sleek, snug fitting riding pants at Zara Basic and a classic cream and navy stripe boatneck T at GAP. I stopped at a frozen yogurt cart and ordered vanilla topped with coconut and dark chocolate chips, only to find they didn’t take credit cards. “On me,” the frozen yogurt man smiled and passed my cold treat through the cart window.

As I walked home toward 5th Ave and Lex, through the streets lit by shop signs, people still bustling at 9 p.m., I experienced the happiest version of myself. My belly and soul felt satisfied with delicious delights. Enticing aromas, sounds, and sights filled my senses. I was want for nothing. Among the street stacked with Gucci upon Coach upon Dolce & Gabana, among the fashionable women in luxurious furs and bejeweled purses, I felt myself to be the luckiest girl in the world, with my new shirt and frozen yogurt.

Maybe it’s realizing that I can never own everything, and even if I could afford it, I wouldn’t want to. Or maybe there’s something delightful and freeing about admiring the beauty of others; seeing myself as part of the beautiful conglomeration of humanity. Or maybe it’s just realizing that at the end of the day, a good glass of wine and a bowl of frozen yogurt cannot be enjoyed any more or any less, no matter the number of bags dangling on my arm.

Leave a Reply

