travel notes

Daily discovery 3: Blues on the Green

In Uncategorized on June 23, 2011 at 5:04 am

I almost missed the day’s greatest discovery. Hot, hungry, sweaty, stuck in traffic, I realized I was across the country from home, family, and many people I love, all symptoms leading to a grouchy, teary meltdown. I nearly just called it a day and drove home. But didn’t.

So happy I went through with the evening plans. I discovered:

 BLUES ON THE GREEN.  Free summer concert series at Zilker Park.

Every other wednesday, local musicians play on a big stage, the city skyscrapers light up behind them as the sun sets, and people sprawl their picnic blankets across the lawn for what seems a mile, with their plastic wine and beer glasses. Some people dance, some twirl glow-in-the-dark hula hoops, some people are throwing frisbees.

Austin is absolutely the most fantastic city in the world. I heard someone describe Austin-ians as “laid-back, good-hearted” people. I think this sums them up nicely. I am inspired by how they live life having FUN and they inspire me to have fun alongside of them.  While so much of the world is trying to exemplify a cool image, Austin folks are too busy having a good time, and in doing so, they are nonchalantly, decidedly cool.

 

 

  1. I WANNA COME LIVE WITH YOU!

  2. No fair, Don’t play with my heart like that! (If you did I think I would do cartwheels of happiness).

  3. I’m seriously contemplating it….

Leave a comment